Winners of Governor General’s Awards in Visible and Media Arts Named

Winners of Governor General’s Awards in Visible and Media Arts Named

Governor General’s Awards in Visible and Media Arts have been named. 

Eight men and women have been named for their extraordinary careers and contributions to the visible arts, media arts and high-quality crafts.

Louise Lemieux Bérubé, a high-quality craft artist from Montréal, Québec, has been presented with the Saidye Bronfman Award. 

“Established by the Bronfman household in 1977, the Saidye Bronfman Award is the most prestigious difference in wonderful crafts in Canada,” in accordance to the information release. “Every yr, the Canadian Museum of History acquires both a solitary work or a series of operates by the winner.”

And Michelle Jacques, a curator from Saskatoon, Sask., has been offered with the Fantastic Contribution Award.

Creative Accomplishment Awards have been introduced to Shuvinai Ashoona, a visible artist from Kinngait, Nunavut Barbara Astman, a visible artist from Toronto, Ont. Dominique Blain, a visible artist from Montréal, Que. Marjorie Beaucage, a resourceful documentary filmmaker from Duck Lake, Sask. Don Ritter, a visible, sound and media artist from Montréal and Greg Staats, a visible artist from Toronto.

“Each a person of the 8 winners of the 2024 Governor General’s Awards in Visible and Media Arts is a visionary in their very own appropriate,” explained Michelle Chawla, Canada Council for the Arts Director and CEO, in the news launch.

“Through a unique, evocative and bold see of the environment, these artists have succeeded in awakening new views, contributing to community discussion and propelling society forward.” 

Just about every winner will get a $25,000 prize and a bronze medallion.

Canadian filmmakers have also established artistic video portraits of every winner.This year’s peer evaluation committee users for the Saidye Bronfman Award contain Lisa Hageman Yahgujanaas, a fibre artist from Massett, B.C. Susan Very low-Beer, a ceramic and multimedia sculptor from Toronto and Thierry Plante-Dubé, CEO of Centre Materia, the Maison des métiers d’art de Québec (MMAQ) and the Institut québécois d’ébénisterie (IQE).

Peer evaluation committee customers for the Creative Accomplishment Award and Remarkable Contribution Award consist of Mario Doucette, a visible artist  from Moncton, New Brunswick Dominique Fontaine, a curator from Montréal Kay Higgins, an artist and cultural worker from Vancouver Kevin McKenzie, a visual artist and assistant professor at Brandon College in Brandon, Man. and Midi Onodera, a relocating graphic artist from Toronto.

Resource: Canada Council for the Arts

PS: Worried you missed one thing? See past Galleries West stories right here or sign up for our no cost biweekly newsletter.